Finding Order in Insanity

IMG_4229

“Time is what we most want, but what we use worst.” -William Penn
Time management.  I can’t tell you for how many years that phrase made me cringe.  Then, this fall happened.  Suddenly, I found myself holding down two jobs and an internship, which all together left me working more than 40 hours a week on average, while also in school full-time–not to mention the fact that I was living totally independently in a non-dorm setting for the first time, with family 8 hours away.  Suffice it to say, my former definition of “busy” couldn’t touch my new schedule.  An average day had me going nonstop from 9 in the morning until 9 or 10 at night with no breaks.  I made it about two weeks into the semester before I came to this “oh boy” moment of wondering what on earth I got myself into.  At that point, though, there was nothing I could do!  I’d made all these commitments, and I told myself that I was going to do whatever I have to do to follow through and complete them well. 

The next few months were probably craziest time of my life to date, if we’re being totally honest.  At the same time, though, necessity forced me to learn to manage my time as never before.  And the most shocking part? I loved it! 

Here’s a few things that managing life as a full-time student working full-time taught me:

Schedule your life. It doesn’t hinder you; it is actually your key to freedom.

Get alone. No matter how much you need to do, you have spend time away from the craziness to pray, read your Bible, watch that netflix show, or go for a run.

Defend your time. Not every request deserves a “yes”.

Treat yourself. When life’s crazy, sometimes you need to stop and get that cup of coffee.

Prioritize time for “your people”. No matter how hectic life gets, you will handle everything better if you take the time to laugh and unwind with friends now and again.

Pick a planner and make it your best friend. Personally, I love the Macbook/iPhone’s Calendar application because it keeps me up to date at home and on the road.  

What are your tips for staying sane and on task in the midst of craziness?

xo,

Anna

Leave a Reply

